Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Looking at the village map of Hoxne that R picked up on Saturday, I see that the little river running through the village is called the Goldbrook Beck.  Another example of tautology.  A beautiful day today though much cooler than yesterday.  We have a strong NE breeze blowing which is drying my washing very well indeed.

While I’m posting I might as well add a couple of flower photos.

Lesser celandines growing in the tub containing my standard bay tree.

IMG_0501Lesser celandine in tub with bay (640x480)

 

Iris danfordiae

IMG_0504Iris danfordiae (640x480)

 

The scillas have grown a little!

111Scillas (640x480)

 

My very favourite hyacinth of all – a Delft Blue.  It isn’t easy to see with this photo, but the outside of the flowerlet buds and the centre of the flowerlets are a wonderful turquoise.  The outer part of the petals are a lovely clear blue which darkens with age to the purpley- blue of Delft pottery.  I think I like blue flowers best.

109Delft Blue hyacinth (640x480)

 

Rip van Winkle daffodils

108Rip van Winkle daffodils (640x480)

 

And again

107Rip van Winkle daffodils (640x480)

 

Tubs of tete a tete daffodils outside the house

044Daffodils outside house (640x427)